Dear 2017,

I am not going to ask you to be nice to me. You’ll probably be so mean that I’ll find myself wishing it’s 2016 again. But here’s one thing I want you to understand: I survived 1989-2016, I will survive you. 

I am going to be honest and say, I don’t know what will happen and I don’t know of I can be strong or if I will be weak. What I can guarantee is that, I will be human.

I will expect mountains and mountains of challenges. I will expect pain and heartaches. I will expect hardships and struggles. But I will also expect adventure, a bit of happiness here and there, some sort of fun and probably some success squeezed in because that’s what life is all about.

There are so many things that I am not sure of but one thing I am sure of is that, you will be teaching me things. I am still in the process of understanding what 2016 was trying to tell me but I will try to understand you as we go along.

I might break down at some point and I’ll probably just rise up again. I can try to be strong but I cannot also promise I will never be weak. I am human after all and some things are more painful than others. But I will try keep as many happy memories as I can and learn from whatever lesson you will surely be teaching me.

I am a realist and I don’t expect things to be easy but I am still hoping for the best. I can only do the best that I can when you decide to throw me into a pit and shake me like McDonald’s Shake Shake fries.

When the time comes that you decide that it’s time to put some twist and turns and leg-breaking ascents in my life, I can only promise to fight my hardest. You can be a bitch if you want or we can be friends, it’s your choice. But I am telling you, I will see 2018 and 2019 and probably more years beyond that and we will have fun. 

So, go ahead. I’m just here. I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

