What advice would you give yourself (if you can)?

If I am given the power to travel back in time and smack myself in the head, I’d give myself three pieces of advice.

1. Invest. Get a mutual fund or something. I spent my first three working years in Bacolod city. The cost of living is relatively low compared to Cebu. The pay is lower in amount but I am earning more considering that I get to keep about 50-70% of my pay. I was able to save part of it but spent it all when I moved to Cebu city. Most of the time though, I’d spend all my money on things I don’t actually need so there are times when I’d be left with almost nothing. Nobody taught me that I don’t need millions to invest. If I did invest my money, I could be living comfortably now. Probably.

2. Learn to say yes. My life would be so different if I said yes to some things. I probably wouldn’t be where I am now, doing what I am doing. There’s a part of me that wants to hit myself in the head but there’s a part of me that’s contented. It is what it is. The pieces have fallen. I have moved on. 😂💔

3. Keep in touch. I am very bad at keeping in touch with people although I don’t really forget people who became a part of my life. I do remember them, all the time in fact. I do miss them. I do want to reach out to them. I’m just really bad at it. It takes me weeks or months to respond to messages because I have to think about it first. I have to be mentally and emotionally ready to respond. I always think they might be busy or they probably don’t remember me anymore and i don’t really want to bother them. Sometimes, by the time I’m ready, it’s too late. 

I would be a hypocrite if I say that I have lived a life with no regrets. There were certainly things that I could have done better and would if I could turn back time. I don’t always make the most intelligent decisions in life and my actions don’t always result into what I hope it would result into but I have learned from them. I just wish I had known back then the things that I know now. 

Leave a Reply

