That is Peculiar!

When I first read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I imagined Tim Burton directing the movie. I mean, judging by the many Tim Burton movies I’ve watched, the weirdness is just about right for him. Only his creative mind could breathe life into this book.

Whenever I watch a book to movie adaptation, I always make sure that I leave all that I have ever imagined about the characters outside of the movie theatre. I prepare myself to meet each character like it was the first time. Movies and pictures can never match our imaginations.

I watched the movie yesterday and what amazed me most is how different this movie is from most Tim Burton movies. I mean aside from the absence of Helena Bonham-Carter, this one seemed “normal”. Less CGIs and more real-life locations. It reminds me of Edward Scissorhands.

I know a lot of people will not agree with me but I really liked the movie adaptation. It was an art in itself. Although there were some changes in characters and situations, it was still good. It’s like reading all three books at the same time. It did not diminish my experience.

I think the only thing that made me sad is realizing at the end of the movie that there may be no part 2 in the horizon.

 

Leave a Reply

