Musings of a concerned citizen

The death of former Senator Miriam Santiago has hit me harder than I thought. I first found out about her death while scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed. When my brain finally caught up with what I was reading, I felt this overwhelming feeling of dread and fear.

For as long as I can remember, there is always a Miriam Defensor-Santiago in the Philippines. Growing up, I frequently see her on TV, read about her in newspapers and hear about her on the radio. She was a constant. In this country where politics is a bit crazy, you can always rely that there is a Miriam Defensor-Santiago who will put them all in their proper places regardless of who they are.

I knew she was sick but I have always hoped that she would get better and scare the living hell out of these jackals in the senate. Whenever I see the telecast of the senate hearing, I think of her and imagine how she would grill these people and drill some sense into them. She was never afraid to speak her mind. Nobody could ever take her place in the Senate.

Now we are left with spineless politicians. We are left with ass kissers who will not hesitate to change color just to make sure they get the sympathy of the people. I see them increasing in number. I can see where my country is heading and though I know that millions of my countrymen believe that we are heading for a brighter future, I am seeing a different picture.

I felt that her death has sealed the fate of this country. I have felt this dread since the start of the campaign period and now it is a full-blown anxiety.

I can only hope that I am wrong. I can only pray that my fear does not become real.

I am preparing for the worst but I am still hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

