The 10K Challenge

You know those nights when you badly want to sleep but your brain just won’t stop bugging you about things that are most likely not going to happen or already had and there’s nothing you can do about it anymore? Well, I’m having one of those nights.

My chain of thoughts were miserably alternating between begging for sleep to come and pondering about the mysteries of life. Unbidden and certainly not asked for, I have visited my childhood and every possible moments I never want to relive; thought of things I am supposed to do and how I can best achieve them, things I should have done but never did; pros and cons of having an escalator instead of stairs; fantasizing about going to Basilan on my own; starting my own business and how badly I want a laptop. That’s only in the last 30mins or so.

In between the laptop and the escalator I remembered how bad I am at saving money and how stupid I am for forgetting that I have an account with UCPB until it was too late and it’s probably gone by now. It’s in this moment that I remembered how determined I was to save my money then and was so proud when I did so. I remembered how excited I was whenever I get home and I put P50 in my coinbank. I remembered how, with minimum of P50/day, I was able to buy a new cellphone and open a passbook account in less than 5months.

I don’t know if it is an unknown side effect of insomnia but I suddenly found myself grabbing the biggest mineral water bottle I can find and stuff it with all the P50 bill I have with me. My sleep-deprived brain suddenly decided that I will challenge myself to save P10K by December 31.

That’s probably a small amount to you but for someone who doesn’t know how to save money, this is a really big challenge. I have decided that I am going to do everything possible to make sure that I reach that amount. Fifty pesos will be my minimum amount and I have to put it everyday. For every day I fail to do so, I have to punish myself— no Mountain Dew for a week. If I fail to reach my goal, I will not celebrate my birthday.

I have decided I should punish myself with something that would really hit me the most.

I guess it is time for me to start waking up early so I don’t have to ride a cab. I would be saving P50 per day if I just ride the jeepney and P12/day if I stop drinking Mt. Dew. That’s already P62/day savings. I really hope I have enough self-discipline to make sure I do what I plan to do.

Posted via Mobile.

*I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors. Proofreading via mobile is a challenge for me.*

Leave a Reply

