Life lessons: Of Reaching Summits, Hiking and True Love

If you are going to ask me why I love hiking, I will not be able to answer. I honestly don’t know. It is not the most comfortable activity in the world and yet here I am pining for it like a lover. It is exhausting, uncomfortable, risky, and way out of my comfort zone and yet I love it. I don’t know why, I just do.

Some people are drawn to the sea, some are drawn to other people. I am drawn to the mountain. I have always been.
image

Nothing makes me happier than walking underneath a canopy of trees, smelling the sweet smell of earth and feeling the gentle breeze brushing my arms. I get giddy with happiness when I see lush green forests. I can’t stop grinning like an idiot at the prospect of seeing one. And when I get to the summit, I just sit there and contentedly look at the world around me, silently (or not) hiding my amazement and staring at everything as far as my eyes can see.
image

Reaching the summit always gives me a mixture of pride and contentment. Despite my proclivity to outdoor activities, I am not the healthiest person in the world. Ascents are a challenge for me and there are moments when I want to give up and go home. Sometimes, my legs are moving out of sheer force of will and my whole body felt mechanical. The trail is not always easy, the pack is heavy and all my muscles are screaming yet I continue walking because oddly enough, despite all that, I feel happy.

When I reach the summit, when I reach the goal, I forget everything. All I can think of is how great it feels to be up there and looking at the world below me. All I can think of is how beautiful the world is and how happy I am to be there.

Hiking taught me a lot of things. I never learned to truly trust the people around me until I started hiking with my friends. I learned to be resourceful. I learned to appreciate the world around me. I learned not to give up when things go wrong and life seemed so difficult. Most of all, I learned to believe in myself. Truly believe in myself and what I can achieve if I put my heart and mind into it.
image

Hiking may not be the most comfortable thing to do in the world but it is something that I love.

You know how people say, “I love you, because…” Well, this love story doesn’t have a “because”. It has no rhyme or reason. It is a love pure and untainted. It doesn’t have any ulterior motives, no hidden agenda, no expectations. It is a love affair that makes me a stronger and better person. It has its hardships but it is a love affair I cannot live without.
image

Admit it, my love affair with the mountain is a better love story than what most people have.

Posted via Mobile.

*I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors. Proofreading via mobile is a challenge for me.*

Leave a Reply

