My Existence Is Validated

I have never been physically attractive. Growing up, I’ve always looked younger than my age and while wearing shorts at 15 or 16 might get someone else attention, I never did. My body is not what anyone would qualify as sexy. I am very thin and what little fat I have went to my tummy instead of my boobs. Get the picture?

I have accepted long ago that if people would notice me, it will not be because of my looks or my body. So I concentrated on developing my personality and my brain. I don’t think there was a point in my life when I acheived something because people think I am beautiful. It is always because I am either qualified or because they think I did great.

It is more important for me to be capable than beautiful. It is more important for me to be determined than attractive.

None of my goals in life requires me to be beautiful. To climb mountains I need patience, determination and strength. To build my own house I need to be hardworking. To travel the world I need to be smart and brave.

My job requires me to be smart, observant, and analytical. My employers requires me to be honest; they expect me to do what is right, take accountability and trust me to make the right decision when the situation calls for it. My parents need me to be kind, dutiful and respectful. My friends need me to be open-minded, understanding, patient and have a sense of fun.

Don’t you think it is too shallow if someone is with you only because they find you physically attractive? If you think about it, it is more satisfying feeling that people like you because of your qualities rather than your looks.

I guess the media has really twisted our perceptions. We live in a world where to be beautiful you need to be tall, skinny and flawless. You need to have straight hair, flat stomach, long legs and penciled eyebrows.

I can’t count the number of times people told me that I should have my hair rebonded and my eyebrows shaved or whatever they call it. I can’t count the number of times I’ve had people tell me that I should wear make-up or do this and do that so I would look pretty. I just smile because realizing all of the things I mentioned above, I know I don’t need people to tell me I am beautiful or sexy to validate my existence.

Posted via Mobile.

*I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors. Proofreading via mobile is a challenge for me.*

One thought on “My Existence Is Validated

Leave a Reply

