Going To Work

Do you dread going to work?

I remembered when I was still working for my previous company, I would always have a sinking feeling the moment my alarm rings to signal the start of my work day. It didn’t start that way of course but the ‘honeymoon period’ didn’t last long.

I started out as a happy employee, eager to work and learn new things. I told myself that I am going to love my job and do my best in everything. Everyday I go to work early and ready. Everyday I do my best to do what is honest and good. Everyday I see people around me do the opposite. Everyday my scores go down and down while those who aren’t being honest with their job are being applauded and recognized. A few months after, I was served my first performance plan documents. Basically a threat that if you don’t do your job, you’re out.

I was left confused naturally. I feel that I was doing my job. I didn’t understand. Am I not expected to be honest then? Barely a year after, I was disillusioned. I go to work with dread. I was stressed. I feel undervalued. I feel unheard. I was no longer there because I love working. I was only there for the money and the health insurance.

The day I got accepted in my present company, the first thing I remembered feeling was relief. Finally, I am out of this hell-hole. I happily passed my resignation letter and in less than 30days, I am happily on my way to my new job and my new life.

I am happy with how my life has turned. Despite the stress my previous job gave me, I am still thankful it served as a stepping stone for me to be where I am now. I guess I will never be this contented and thankful of my current job if I didn’t have to go through that hell.

These days, I wake up happy and eager to work. I’ve been working in this company for almost three years and though it’s not perfect (because nothing is), I say this is worlds apart from my previous company.

Here, I feel valued and heard. Here, I feel a sense of purpose. Here, the culture is different, the values are enforced and those who are honestly doing their jobs are truly rewarded.

Almost three years and I am happy I made the choice. My only regret is that, I didn’t do it sooner.

Posted via Mobile.

*I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors. Proofreading via mobile is a challenge for me.*

2 thoughts on “Going To Work

  1. That situation when you have to drag yourself to work. Weekends are your relief and then Sunday night will come and you’ll start feeling uneasy knowing that you’ll be braving another five days in that cubicle. You felt trapped in an environment that you never imagined yourself to be in. I think that’s one of the worst feelings if you’re part of the work force.

    Like

    • True. Sometimes you find yourself staring outside the window, wondering how it would feel to be out there than inside that cubicle, trapped in a place you didn’t want to be at and smiling at people you don’t even like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

