When You Feel That Everyone Hates You…

I don’t think there is one person in this world who truly believes that everyone likes them. It doesn’t matter who you are, what you are, where you’re from or what you do. There will always be someone who will hate you. But why?

image
Or, you're just really difficult to like.

I came across this image as I was browsing through my newsfeed. I partly agree with this quote. Only partly because it forgot one other possible reason why people hates us.

I mean, in your whole life have you ever considered the possibility that people hates you because you make it difficult for people to like you? Have you ever considered that they hate you because you are hateful? It takes a brave and serious self-evaluation to answer that question.

Some of us are either not so brave to answer it or deluded enough to think that we are perfect and everyone are just simply envious of our perfection.

I personally think it is easier for us to think that people hates us because they are jealous of what we have. It is quiet painful to think that they hate us because we are hateful, self-absorbed individuals who gives everyone a reason to stay away from us. It is sad to think that we exude an aura of pure negativity that we drive people away and just a sight of us sends them running in the opposite direction.

So as a defense, we don’t take time to evaluate ourselves. We justify their hatred by telling ourselves that we are better than them and they hate us for that. We live in a delusion that all these people hates us because we have something they don’t have. We convince ourselves that we are not the ones with problems and issues but the people who hates us. Easier to accept than face the truth that we have an attitude problem.

image
No, don't just be yourself. That's the worst advice ever. Strive to be the best version of yourself. It's not to impress people. It's just the right thing to do.

I think everyone has an attitude problem. It’s a matter of being honest with yourself and taking the step to change for the better. I, too have an attitude problem. I am impatient and bossy. I have brain-to-mouth filter issue. I am sarcastic and tactless. I have a lot of flaws so I am not surprise if someone hates me.

Regardless of their reasons, I think it is important that we evaluate ourselves. In any given situation, we should be able to see our flaws. Sometimes we need to ask ourselves questions. Sometimes we need to be brave enough to ask if the problem is really with the people around us or with ourselves.

It is not always bad to change yourself because of other people’s perception of you. I used to live with the excuse, “this is who I am, take it or leave it…” but looking inside me I realized that this is not always good. You have to see what is wrong with you and change that. If majority of the people thinks you’re an asshole, then you probably need to start evaluating yourself. You can’t always be an asshole.

So think about it. Before you start telling yourself that the world hates you because they feel threatened by you or is envious of you, ask yourself first if there is a tinny tiny possibility that you are the problem and not them.

It takes courage and practice to see yourself as you truly are. Self-evaluation is the first step to change. But change because you truly know that there is something wrong with you that needs to be changed and not just because you want to impress people.

We are all works in progress. None of us are perfect. We all just have to strive to be better versions of ourselves.

Posted via Mobile.

*I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors. Proofreading via mobile is a challenge for me.*

2 thoughts on “When You Feel That Everyone Hates You…

  1. Great post! I would do this to myself a great deal. It was not until I started to look at myself that I found I was the reason people did not like me. I was a very angry, controlling person. I would drive people away. I am glad that others are able to see that it is not always the rest of the world who is the problem. Sometimes it is us. I really enjoyed your point of view on this. Thanks!!

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m glad someone agrees. It’s really a challenge to actually see yourself as others see you but once you’ve done it and changed for the better, it’s satisfying to see how everything just falls into place and life becomes better.

      🙂 thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

